THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE AT CHATTANOOGA ADVISORY BOARD MEETING

9:00 a.m. ET Friday March 13, 2020 Foundation Room – University Center 615 McCallie Avenue Chattanooga, Tennessee

ORDER OF BUSINESS

I.	CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL	.2
II.	OPENING REMARKS	.2
	SELECTION OF STUDENT MEMBER TO THE BOARD	
IV.	CLOSING REMARKS	.2
v.	ADJOURNMENT	.2

I. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Chair Fred Decosimo called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m. Ms. Terry Denniston, Secretary, called roll. The following Board members were present:

Fred Decosimo (Chair) Serina Desai Carole Hoffman Scott LeRoy Gretchen Potts Benjamin Smith (via telephone)

A quorum was present.

Others in attendance included: Dr. Steven Angle, UTC Chancellor; Dr. Yancy Freeman, UTC Vice Chancellor of Enrollment Management, Student Success and Student Affairs.

II. OPENING REMARKS

Chancellor Angle thanked everyone for attending the meeting to select the next student board member, noting that the bylaws of the board do not allow meeting by phone.

III. SELECTION OF STUDENT MEMBER TO THE BOARD

Chair Decosimo announced that there were several candidates for consideration for the next student member position on the Board for the term commencing on July 1, 2020 and ending June 30, 2021. Chair Decosimo noted that all candidates were impressive. Gretchen Potts made a motion to select student-candidate Rachel Worley for the position. Serina Desai and Carole Hoffman seconded the motion. Chair Decosimo called for discussion. Ms. Desai shared that she thought the candidates were well prepared, but felt Ms. Worley answered every question right away and in full. Ms. Hoffman felt Ms. Worley had some knowledge that the others may not have and felt her sincerity about the student body and connecting with them. The motion for the selection of Rachel Worley as the next student member carried by unanimous vote.

IV. CLOSING REMARKS

The next board meeting is scheduled for May 7. Dr. Potts noted that she will be moving off the board at the end of June and Dr. Jamie Harvey, Faculty Senate President, will join the board on July 1.

V. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Decosimo asked for a motion to adjourn. Mr. LeRoy so moved, and Ms. Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion was passed by unanimous vote. The meeting was adjourned at 9:19 am.