Meeting Minutes UTC Full Faculty August 22, 2024

**Presiding: President Jack Zibluk** 

Minutes: Sarah Einstein, Faculty Senate Secretary

#### 1. Welcome and Introductions

President Jack Zibluk called the meeting to at 3:15 order and introduced the agenda.

## 2. Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes

The minutes from the previous meeting on April 18, 2024 were approved via a Zoom poll and a show of hands in the room. Motion to approve the minutes was made by Dr. Darrell Walsh and seconded by Dr. Perry Ward. The motion was approved by a vote of 34-0-0.

#### 3. Unfinished Business

Sick Leave Policy Update – Dr. Beth Crawford provided an update on the ongoing review of the sick leave policy with the head of HR and the University Faculty Council (UFC). - She noted that the policy is not dead, but has gone into a "hibernation" period, and they are working to wake it up and move it forward. Dr. Crawford stated that sentiment has been very positive about the policy, and the UFC also expressed positivity when they met the previous day. Dr. Crawford emphasized that the university is not letting the sick leave policy go and is still trying to figure it out.

## 4. New Officer Approvals

- Dr. Jaclyn Michael was approved as the new Vice President, and Sarah Einstein was approved as the new Secretary. - The motion to approve the new officers was made by the executive committee and so did not require a second. The motion passed on a vote of 34-0-0.

## 5. Committee Assignments

- A motion was made by Barry Cameron and seconded by Dr. Darrell Walsh to allow committees to start operations prior to full approval.
  - Dr. Tammy Garland raised concerns about some committees not meeting bylaw standards, stating that there are committees that have been appointed that specifically go against the bylaws, not just holes in the committees.

An amended motion was made by Dr. Beth Crawford to allow an online vote to certify the committees once they are fixed to meet the bylaw standards. - The amended

motion was seconded by Dr. and passed with a majority vote (32 yes, 1 no, 3 abstentions).

# 6. Presentations from New University Personnel

- Dr. Anovia Slaughter, the new university ombuds, introduced herself and explained the role of the ombuds office. She emphasized the office's independence, confidentiality, and impartiality, stating that she is not for or against the university or any individual. Slaughter outlined the services provided by the ombuds office, including conflict resolution, mediation, facilitation, coaching, and educational outreach.
- Dean Tim Gritton, the new dean of the library, welcomed everyone and mentioned the upcoming faculty advisory committee to help advise him on library spaces, collections, and services.
- Director Anitra Barrett, the new director of Title IX compliance, discussed the current 2020 regulations and the ongoing lawsuit against the 2024 regulations. She noted that the university is still operating under the 2020 regulations due to the injunction.
  - -Brett Fuchs provided additional information on the Title IX roadshow and mandatory reporting training.

## 7. Administrative Updates

- Provost Hale reported on the search for the Vice Chancellor of Communication and Marketing, with two finalists identified. The finalists will be on campus early the following week to meet with various groups, including faculty representation.
  - The reorganization of the Office of the Provost was discussed, with a focus on distributing Matt Matthews' duties among other vice provosts.

#### Attendance:

Darrell Walsh
Cherry Guinn
Deborah McAllister
Chandler Harriss
Barry Kamrath
Jessica Taylor
Feng Guo
Thomas Huber
Gaye Jeffers

Perry Ward

Matthew Evans

Chat Littleton

Joshua Parks

Ziwei Ma

**Ashley Manning** 

Callie Adams

Monica Miles

Steve Davenport

Harry Van Buren

Mark Kozak

Khalid Tantawi

**Brooke Epperson** 

Jennifer Hogg

Sarah Treat

Caitlin Crews-Stowe

Max Jordan

John Harbison

Rachel Flemming

Al Salatka

Tammy Garland

Jack Zibluk

Jaclyn Michael

Elizabeth Crawford

Sarah Einstein

# **Results of Post-Meeting Electronic Votes:**

The vote to seat the key committees of Undergraduate Admissions, General Education, and Undergraduate Petitions ahead of the full vote on committees passed on a vote of 41-3-2.

The vote to seat Josh Davies for Carl Springer during the fall semester passed on a vote of 5-0-0.

The vote to seat Michael Bonnal for Sami Dakhlia during the fall semester passed on a vote of 4-0-0.